Hello...and Help!

Hi, I just joined this forum and I already love it! I participate in various business/entrepreneur forums, asking questions about pursuing solar career, but never get any good information in return. I've even tried writing solar energy companies asking for help, and don't get a response. Who would have thought this site actually exist. I can't believe it. I'm hoping to find someone here that could help jump-start my possible future.

This is my situation. I am currently an undergrad student that will receive a B.S. in Financial Services in May 2009. For about 3 months I have been researching info. on residential PV systems (cost, efficiency, popularity, advances in tech, gov't tax credits/subsidies, etc.). The wealth of Info. avalible on this subject makes me want to drop out of school and focus all of my studying photovoltaics. I believe a large portion of world will become dependant on solar energy sometime in my future. I want to become a big part of this inevitable trend.

As of now, it seems residential PV systems are marketed very little. With the all the benefits (financial/environmental), I see no reason why I wouldn't be able to successfully sell PV systems door-to-door; not literally, but in a sense. I've actually thought of a marketing technique I'd use that I think would be tremendously successful. I believe I could sell any product I believe in, and this is a product I TRULY believe in. When I look at career opportunities offered by solar energy companies in my area, I see nothing even close to resembling what I want to do for the company.

I was hoping somebody could please guide my studies, and/or make some suggestions as to the type of career path I should follow. It would also help if anybody knew any other networking outlets for a venture of this type. Or I'd like to hear any comments on my way of thinking, are there any flaws I should know about. -If nothing, thanks for at least reading this long winded post. :D

Comments