Could trees provide another model for wind power generation?

Options
Duffis
Duffis Registered Users Posts: 1
Obviously windmills extract some power from the wind using blades that rotate etc, but I wonder if it would be possible to get energy from the wind by mimicing the rocking/swaying motion of trees on a windy day?

I believe that larger windmills with a larger area of blade space exposed to the wind will spin with less wind speed. A tree or something like it provides a lot of space for a less powerful wind to push against...so...would it be possible to construct something like a sail on a hinge to extract more power at lower wind speeds?

I apologise if this all sounds like nonsense. I’m not a scientist, hence the question and I’m guessing that windmills work in a way that is more efficient than my oddball suggestion/idea.

What do you think anyway?

Is this nonsensical or impractical?

Any thoughts/comments appreciated.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,447 admin
    Options
    Re: Could trees provide another model for wind power generation?

No--There is nothing in the motion of trees that would give a theoretical base for deriving alternative mechanical methods of generating power from wind--That I can see.

The motion of trees waving back and forth is probably the "rolling motion" of turbulent airflow near the ground. You also have leaves/branches that move with the wind and change airflow characteristics (leaves "flutter", etc.) which tends to dissipate energy rather than to any real work.

There have been a lot of attempts to create "better" wind turbines--But many of the "novel" designs never really went anywhere useful.