240v Generator / Inverter

Toby
Toby Solar Expert Posts: 56 ✭✭✭✭
I'm not an electrician. I wasn't completely sure how to title this question. Hopefully this will make sense. The question is inverter related.

I just tested a generator which was connected to my house through a transfer switch. It's rated at 7500 watts. Is it common for the generator's 120v output to only supply 1/2 of the total wattage?

The generator has 240v output. It feeds 240v (2 lines @ 120v) to the transfer switch which goes to the main circuit breaker panel. I had an issue powering a 240v appliance. I looked in the cb panel and discovered that 240v is fed off the same 120v buss bar. I sort of knew this, but never thought of the implcations.

So, commercial power supplies 100 amps per 120v buss of a 200 amp service? Correct? Double pole circuit breakers for 240v have no problems supplying the needed amperage off one buss. However, generators (and probably inverters) only supply 1/2 the total wattage per 120v leg.

Is this the way it's always done?

Why isn't 240v supplied off both busses, 120v off each? Is the cb the problem?

If you need a 240v inverter, how do you work-around this?

Comments

• inetdog
    inetdog Solar Expert Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: 240v Generator / Inverter
    Toby wrote: »
    I'm not an electrician. I wasn't completely sure how to title this question. Hopefully this will make sense. The question is inverter related.

I just tested a generator which was connected to my house through a transfer switch. It's rated at 7500 watts. Is it common for the generator's 120v output to only supply 1/2 of the total wattage?

The generator has 240v output. It feeds 240v (2 lines @ 120v) to the transfer switch which goes to the main circuit breaker panel. I had an issue powering a 240v appliance. I looked in the cb panel and discovered that 240v is fed off the same 120v buss bar. I sort of knew this, but never thought of the implcations.