XANTREX XW INVERTER: 50Hz vs 60Hz

Hi,

I wanted to buy the Xantrex XW inverter to be used in Africa (230Vac 50Hz), so I contacted Xantrex to know if the 120/230Vac split-phase 60Hz output can be adjusted to give 230Vac 50Hz. I got a reply from Xantrex saying that the output of the XW can not be changed. I was advised to wait for the European version of the XW with 230Vac 50Hz.
Please, I will like to know if any body is aware of the European version, or knows any solution to my problem. The system that I want to set up will be a grid-tie system with battery back-up, though the grid part of it will be ONLY for receiving power and switching to the battery back-up when the grid fails. No provision for excess buy back as this is not allowed in my grid system.

I am relatively new in this Solar/Inverter power business, so I will need/appreciate any information you can give me.

Regards,
Wene

Comments

• crewzer
    crewzer Registered Users, Solar Expert Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: XANTREX XW INVERTER: 50Hz vs 60Hz

Wene,

There are several companies that make 230 VAC / 50 Hz inverter/chargers intended for use applications where the grid is the backup. For example, here's a link to OutBack's inverters intended for just that purpose: http://www.outbackpower.com/Export.htm

HTH, and feel free to come back with additional questions.
    Jim / crewzer
  • nigtomdaw
    nigtomdaw Solar Expert Posts: 705 ✭✭
    Re: XANTREX XW INVERTER: 50Hz vs 60Hz

Wene , thanks for your PM . Your question relating to my SW and the new XW from Xantrex, I think you have got confused somewhere. I use the soon to be phased out SW3024E inverter charger, I do not have a XW or intend to get one as my SW is just 2 years old. From your post here I see you have the grid but are looking at an inverter and batteries from back up when the grid fails is that correct ?

Depending on how often and how long the grid goes down will greatly affect your decision making .