Need Help On Solar Panel/LiFePO4 Solution For Battery Powered Scrolling Billboard

mohknight
mohknight Registered Users Posts: 2
Hello,

I'm pretty new at this stuff (solar power, batteries, etc.) so I hope y'all will bear with me.

I and a friend designed a backlit (LEDs) scrolling billboard and had it built as a part of a hopefully successful business project. The power situation here in West Africa is not that good so we had to design the billboard to work without mains power for up to 3 days.

The batteries we are using are 12V-30Ah NiMH battery packs of 30 D-Cell NiMH batteries connected in series and parallel - we are using these NiMH battery packs due to the need to keep the battery weight as low as possible. At full charge they run the billboard for 3 days before needing to be recharged.

The current draw of the billboard is;
0.14A - motors stopped, lights off
0.56A~0.78A - motors rolling, lights off
0.18A - motors stopped, lights on
0.69A~0.91A - motors rolling, lights on
NOTE: The battery is depleted by about 6Ah every 24 hours.

So here's the situation; we've decided to incorporate a solar element into our design so we can go completely off-grid (the region gets at least 6-8 hours of sunshine daily in the dry season and 4-6 hours in the wet season), save ourselves some money in the long run and do some good for the environment.

We have been advised to invest in a solar panel system using 12V-30Ah LiFePO4 batteries due to their weight, longer lifespan, discharge efficiency and that they're more suited to solar applications than NiMH.

What we're trying to find out is what exactly will suit our needs? What size of solar panel (65W? 85W?) would serve to keep 12V-30Ah LiFePO4 battery fully charged? Do we need a BMS for the battery? What about the Charge Controller - what rating (Amp?) is required? What are the best brands?

Hope I'm not asking too much ...

Thanks!

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭