Tiny House Solar Config

Steven Lake
Steven Lake Solar Expert Posts: 402 ✭✭
Hi again all. It's been a while, but given how crazy the last two months were, it's understandable. Anyhow, I've got another question for you, since I'm still a learning beginner here. I was looking at this video up on Youtube about what I believe to be the single best designed Tiny House ever. It's 320sqft and runs only a handful of basic appliances. My guess is that they don't use much power at all, even though they've got mainstream appliances.

In your best opinion (no, I don't have one of these houses, but I'm highly considering it), what would you say would be required to run a house like this on solar? I'm guessing 500ah of battery, about 2000w max inverter, and 6x180w solar panels. But that's my guess. Now obviously I'd make the heat propane, and use camper appliances of the same size instead of the stuff they have to save on power. Even so I'm wondering what your thoughts would be on the required power and setup to run one. At only $3500 to build one of these, and another $2k to outfit it with a decent list of creature comforts, it'd leave plenty of extra cash (assuming your budget is $20k) for a solar setup.

Anyhow, what's your thoughts? The two designs I was thinking was a completely off grid power system, and a basic light weight solar to power just the basics. (ie, fridge and some basic lighting.) My primary interest in asking is I'm thinking of building one for a camper of sorts. Since it works just as well, and costs just a fraction of a good camper (plus you can adjust and reconfigure it down the road) and can go anywhere a camper can go. :)

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Tiny House Solar Config

Without even looking at the video ...
    I have 320 Amp hours @ 24 Volts and 700 Watts of panel with a 3.5 kW inverter. About 2.4 kW hours per day.