Wind Power

I'm a newbie bear with me, I want to learn more about wind power. I have a question and hope you guys could help me out. Recently I purchased a PMA motor, the graph shows 150V/1000watts @ 1200 RPM. If I have a charge controller rated 24 volt then my battery bank should be 24 volt as well. My question is how can I achieve the maximum wattage or 150 volt from the motor to feed my battery if the incoming load is more than enough for the battery bank to handle and would the charge controller clamps or dump the excess voltage? Thank you and more power folks.

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: Wind Power

airplane propellers spin at 1200 RPM

Wind generators should not.

Are you able to get your money back on the PMA ?

More realsitic RPM's would be 10- 200 RPM
    Most DIY homebrew props will fly quite a distance when they break off the hub.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

There are MPPT charge controllers for wind turbines too (similar to solar panel MPPT charge controllers).

You might try talking with Midnite Solar about the wind version of their "classic" controller.

There are a couple of other places that may have MPPT controllers available too for wind turbines...