Solar Generator

Hello I am new to the solar world, but I have tried to read and learn as much as I can. I decided that I wanted to build a very portable and compact solar generator. My entire design fits inside of a 27 series marine battery box. I have a 20 watt panel mounted to the outside of the box. Inside I have a Kintex 7amp CC, Genesis 12v 18a/h battery, 300w power inverter. My problem is that when I hooked it all up and put it in great sunlight, I was pulling in about 21 amps. In about 2 min, the CC started smoking, I had luckily put in quick disconnects so I was able to unplug it hopefully before any damage was done. The CC says that it has 22 amp max input, am I too close to the max already with this panel? Do I need a larger CC? Does this happen when you wire something incorrectly? I thought I had everthing thing right, but as I am new to this, I could use some advice!

Thanks

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Solar Generator

there is no way a 20w pv is going to push 22a. at best it will be somewhere around 1.5a. you may have wired things up wrongly and it sounds like the controller may have even smoked. there are more reliable controllers out there too so check some of these as an example.
    http://www.solar-electric.com/stpwmchco.html
    xantrex has some low end controllers as well.
    http://www.solar-electric.com/xachco.html
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin

I am sorry I didnt mean amps I meant volts... I was pulling 21 volts off of the panel, it says 17.5 max volts but was actually putting out 21. The CC says 22 max volt input. Here is the info from the panel:
    Peak Power: 20 w
    max power voltage: 17.5 v
    max power current: 1.143 a
    Open Circuit Voltage: 22.1 v
    Short Circuit Current: 1.234

I didnt have any load hooked up to it just charging the battery, could that be the reason - open circuit?
  • niel